abc_archive_NTBA2510A_wgParents who want to enter their children in Oregon schools without vaccinating them will now need to sit through a lecture from a family doctor or watch a promotional video before they can be granted an exemption, according to a law taking effect on March 1. Regardless of the severity or prevalence of the disease in question, or whether the parents choose to vaccinate on an alternative schedule, this will be a requirement for parents seeking any vaccine exemption. The law is an effort to bring down the numbers of children who enter Oregon public schools without being “fully vaccinated,” defined as following the complete Centers For Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) recommendations. According to CDC data, 6.4 percent of Oregon kindergartners (3,010 children) entered the 2012-2013 school year with a religious or philosophical vaccine exemption, in comparison with the national rate of 1.8 percent. This makes Oregon’s vaccine exemption rate the highest in the nation. MORE