Closest AsteroidA newfound asteroid will buzz close by Earth today (March 4), flying safely between our planet and the orbit of the moon, and you can follow the space rock encounter live online. “This asteroid, 2014 DX110, is estimated to be about 100 feet (30 meters) across,” officials at NASA’s Jet Propulsion Laboratory in California wrote in an alert. “Its closest approach to Earth will be at about 217,000 miles (about 350,000 kilometers) from Earth at about 1 p.m. PST (4 p.m. EST) [2100 GMT] on March 5. The average distance between Earth and its moon is about 239,000 miles (385,000 kilometers).” MORE