Typhoon “Jebi” slammed into western Japan on September 4, 2018, killing at least 9 people and injuring more than 300. This is the fourth typhoon to strike Japan this year and the first categorized as ‘very strong’ to make landfall in mainland Japan in 25 years. Jebi made its first landfall in the southern part of Tokushima Prefecture around 03:00 UTC (12:00 JST), September 4 with sustained winds of over 160 km/h (100 mph), making it the strongest typhoon to hit mainland Japan since Typhoon “Nancy” in 1993.

The second landfall took place in Hyogo Prefecture, just east of Kobe, around 05:00 UTC (14:00 JST). The typhoon left a trail of destruction, killed at least 9 people and injured more than 300 others, as of 18:00 UTC, September 4. 1.61 million customers in Fukui, Shiga, Kyoto, Osaka, Hyogo, Nara and Wakayama prefectures were left without power, in addition to 95,000 in Shikoku region, the Japan Times reports. Osaka reported wind gusts over 200 km/h (125 mph), the strongest to hit the city since 1961. READ MORE