The plague has seen nine countries told to prepare for an outbreak of the black death. South Africa is among the British holiday hotspots identified by the World Health Organization as priority countries to get ready to defend against the black death.  Madagascar is facing a worrying spread of the deadly disease, with 124 people killed already. A total of 1,133 people have been infected across the country, with the risk of further spread of the disease “very high” according to latest WHO analysis. While the

disease has so far been self-contained in Madagascar, South Africa, Mauritius, Seychelles, Tanzania, La Réunion, Mozambique, Kenya, Ethiopia and Comoros have all been put on notice. Unicef, the Red Cross, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) and the European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control (ECDC) have mobilized emergency plans in the countries. They aim to increase public awareness to increase surveillance, particularly at borders, draw up contingency plans and sourcing medication. READ MORE