A tsunami warning has been issued for the Solomon Islands, Vanuatu, Papua New Guinea, and Nauru after a 7.7 magnitude earthquake struck 70km off the Solomon Islands, according to USGS. The USGS initially reported the quake as 8.0, but later downgraded it to 7.7. “Hazardous tsunami waves from this earthquake are possible within the next three hours along some coasts of Solomon Islands, Vanuatu, Papua New Guinea, Nauru, New Caledonia, Tuvalu and Kosrae,”

stated the warning issued by the Pacific Tsunami Warning Center. A tsunami watch has been also issued for all Hawaiian islands, the US National Weather Service reported. The center called on the government agencies responsible for dealing with emergency situations to “take action to inform and instruct any coastal populations at risk in accordance with their own evaluation.” READ MORE