1-nasaseesinteNASA’s Aqua satellite passed over Tropical Cyclone Hudhud on Oct. 10 as it reached hurricane-force.  The Atmospheric Infrared Sounder or AIRS instrument that flies aboard NASA’s Aqua satellite read temperatures of thunderstorm cloudtops that make up Tropical Cyclone Hudhud when it passed overhead on Oct. 9 at 19:53 UTC (3:53 p.m. EDT). The data showed the coldest cloud top temperatures were in thunderstorms circling a developing eye. Cloud top temperatures were as cold as -63F/-53C, which have the potential for dropping heavy rainfall. Hudhud’s maximum sustained winds were nearer 75 knots (86.3 mph/138.9 kph) on Oct. 10 at 1500 UTC (11 a.m. EDT). It was centered near 15.5 north and 86.7 east, about 250 nautical miles (155.3 miles) southeast Visakhapatnam, India. Hudhud has tracked northwestward at 6 knots (6.9 mph/11.1 kph). More